EDGE in Tech™ Initiative at UC
3 min readOct 11, 2021
Call for Nominations: EDGE in Tech Athena Awards. Nominate by November 8, 2021 in the categories: Executive Leadership, Academic Leadership, Early Career, and Next Generation Engagement. Nominate and learn more at http://bit.ly/EDGEAthenaAwards.

Know inspiring leaders or organizations supporting those who identify as women and BIPOC in technology?

Nominate them for an EDGE in Tech Athena Award today!

Submit your nomination!

Monday, Nov. 8, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. PST

The EDGE in Tech Athena Awards recognize people and organizations that embody, encourage and promote the inclusion of women and BIPOC in technology. Awardees are leaders who inspire others to pursue and persist in technical careers by way of their outstanding contributions, service and mentorship to foster inclusion in science and technical fields.

Nominations are open to all candidates regardless of gender, age, institutional affiliation and country of residence.

Learn more about the selection criteria and past winners.

Awards are given in four categories:

Executive Leadership Award
The Executive Leadership Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership by supporting the professional development and promotion of women in technology within their companies, organizations or the field at large.

Academic Leadership Award
The Academic Leadership Award recognizes senior leaders in academia or national labs (faculty or staff) who have a demonstrated record of technical accomplishments and have encouraged or mentored young scholars or colleagues.

Early Career Award
The Early Career Award recognizes promising young STEM leaders in industry, academia or the public sector.

Next-Generation Engagement Award
The Next-Generation Engagement Award recognizes organizations or programs that encourage girls or young women to pursue interests in science, technology, engineering and math.


  • Friday, Oct. 8: Nominations open
  • Monday, Nov. 8, 11:59 p.m. PST: Nominations are due
  • December: Award winners are notified
  • January: Award winners are announced
  • March 10–11, 2022: Awards are presented at the Diversity in Tech Symposium: Advancing Climate Resilience
Save the Date for the 2022 Diversity in Tech Symposium: Advancing Climate Resilience on March 10–11, 2022.

And check out the prior winners for inspiration!

Athena Award winners:

  • 2021: UC Merced Professor Teenie Matlock, World Economic Forum’s Sheila Warren, UC Davis Assistant Professor Katia Cánepa Vega, and the nonprofit organization Self e-STEM. More info >
  • 2020: UC Berkeley Professor Alice Agogino, IBM’s Rama K. Akkiraju, Algorithmic Justice League’s Joy Buolamwini, and the nonprofit organization Girls Who Code. More info >
  • 2019: President of Harvey Mudd College Maria Klawe, Respira Labs CEO Maria Artunduaga, Double Shelix podcast co-founders Sally Winkler and Kayla Wolf, and former president of the Association for Computing Machinery Barbara Simons. More info >
  • 2017: Stanford University Professor Fei-Fei Li, University of Massachusetts at Amherst’s Laura Haas, Callisto CEO and founder Jessica Ladd, and Neo’s Claire Shorall. More info >
  • 2016: UC Berkeley’s Tsu-Jae King Liu, Claire Tomlin, Ruzena Bajcsy, and Vidya Ganapati, Google’s Elizabeth Churchill, and the nonprofit organization Code to Inspire. More info >
EDGE in Tech™ Initiative at UC

Expanding Diversity and Gender Equity in Tech (EDGE in Tech) Initiative @ UC | CITRIS & the Banatao Institute + Berkeley Engineering http://edge.berkeley.edu